The Watchman

*Just a note before I begin. I didn’t write the book, but I’m expected to follow it and live by it, and so are you.

According to Ezekiel 33:1-20 I (and you), as well as Ezekiel, have been set as watchmen. It declares that I must warn the people of their sin in order for their blood not to be required at my hand. So here it goes!

Exodus 20:3   Thou shalt have no other gods before me.

That means ANYTHING that comes before God. TV, children’s sports/school activities, football, basketball, racing, etc, spouse/boyfriend or girlfriend, work, even sleep if it means you are not attending church when the doors are open. God expects a faithful servant, not slothful. *See Matthew 25:23 His lord said unto him, Well done, good and faithful servant; thou hast been faithful over a few things, I will make thee ruler over many things: enter thou into the joy of thy lord.*

Exodus 20:4-5 Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image, or any likeness of any thing that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth: Thou shalt not bow down thyself to them: for I the Lord thy God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children unto the third and fourth generation of them that hate me.

Buddha, Muhammad, cows, etc. I’m going to take this a step farther and say Oprah, Miley Cyrus, Paris Hilton, Lady Gaga, etc. Anything that we let ourselves and our children “idolize” God is not pleased with. He IS a jealous God and expects our full attention, after all, he created everything and it was for us, we should be a little more thankful and show a little more respect and appreciation to Him for it!

Exodus 20:7 Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain; for the Lord will not hold him guiltless that taketh his name in vain.

OH GOODNESS, here’s a big one! I’m not just after you foul mouthers, I’m after you christian cussers too! We all know what taking the Lord’s name in vain is and I’m not about to type it! But how about all the OMG ing that’s going around? God is not pleased that we use His name as slang just as much as He doesn’t like it being used with the other.

Exodus 20:8-11 Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy. Six days shalt thou labour, and do all thy work: But the seventh day is the sabbath of the Lord thy God: in it thou shalt not do any work, thou, nor they son, nor thy daughter, thy manservant, not thy maidservant, not thy cattle, not thy stranger that is within thy gates: For in six days the Lord made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that in them is, and rested the seventh day: wherefore the Lord blessed the sabbath day and hallowed it.

I don’t care if it’s Saturday or Sunday that you have church, GO! If you’re Seventh Day Adventist, go Saturday, if you’re Baptist, go Sunday, just get yourself to a BIBLE-BELIEVING church and be faithful to it!

Exodus 20:11 Honour thy father and thy mother: that thy days may be long upon the land which the Lord thy God giveth thee.

Listen to your folks, they have been there! I’m just as guilty as anyone on this! I was saved when I was 23 so this commandment really didn’t mean as much to me then as it does now. Notice the last part of this verse, “that thy days may be long upon the land.” WOW we will live longer just for honouring our parents! I wish I’d have really paid attention to that when I was younger! Even now that I am 34 years old, my parents are still my parents and I need to honour them. God is over my whole life, then my husband, but I still have to honour my parents, and so do you, whatever your age.

Exodus 20:13 Thou shalt not kill.

Now, if you are in the military, this does not apply to you during war-time or if you are defending yourself or your family. BUT, to kill someone in anger or just because you don’t like the way they look, that is wrong regardless of what your situation.

Exodus 20:14 Thou shalt not commit adultery

I may get some hate mail for this, but it’s the truth and as I’ve said, I didn’t write the book, but I have to live by it. If you are having sex with, touching inappropriately, “sexting” or lusting after someone who is not your spouse, you are committing adultery. I’m talking 1 man 1 woman marriage here, homosexuality is wrong, wether you are “married” by state standards. *See Leviticus 18:22 Thou shalt not lie with mankind, as with womankind: it is abomination.
As Matthew 5:28 says But I say unto you, That whosoever looketh on a woman to lust after her hath committed adultery with her already in his heart. This applies to women also! If you are married and are looking at another man or woman and thinking lustful thoughts, you are committing adultery.

Exodus 20:15 Thou shalt not steal

Not even a grape from the supermarket. If it’s not yours and if you haven’t paid for it-DON’T take it-it’s stealing!

Exodus 20:16 Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbour.

Let’s define neighbor first. Luke 10:29-37 says But he, willing to justify himself, said unto Jesus, And who is my neighbour?  And Jesus answering said, A certain man went down from Jerusalem to Jericho, and fell among thieves, which stripped him of his raiment, and wounded him, and departed, leaving him half dead.  And by chance there came down a certain priest that way: and when he saw him, he passed by on the other side.  And likewise a Levite, when he was at the place, came and looked on him, and passed by on the other side.  But a certain Samaritan, as he journeyed, came where he was: and when he saw him, he had compassion on him, And went to him, and bound up his wounds, pouring in oil and wine, and set him on his own beast, and brought him to an inn, and took care of him.  And on the morrow when he departed, he took out two pence, and gave them to the host, and said unto him, Take care of him; and whatsoever thou spendest more, when I come again, I will repay thee.  Which now of these three, thinkest thou, was neighbour unto him that fell among the thieves?  And he said, He that showed mercy on him. Then said Jesus unto him, Go, and do thou likewise

Now we know who our neighbour is-DON’T LIE ABOUT THEM!

Exodus 20:17 Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s house, thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s wife, nor his manservant, nor his maidservant, nor his ox, nor his ass, nor any thing that is thy neighbour’s.

It’s not wrong to want nice things, but it is wrong to want your neighbour’s nice things! Trying to “Keep up with the Jones'” is part of what has gotten this nation in the trouble it’s in now. Everyone wants the newest car, the newest house, the newest phone, the newest, newest, newest!  I’m tired of paying someone else for everything I’ve got! DH and I are trying to become self-sufficient, it’s hard! We have credit cards and loans and are basically in debt just like 98% of America. BUT we have been looking at our NEEDS and not our WANTS and realizing we don’t have  to have the new house, new boat, new truck, new, new, new to be happy. As a matter of fact, God has shown us that if we follow his commandments and strive to make HIM first in our lives, we are much happier people and our WANTS change as we grow closer to Him!

I pray that I haven’t offended anyone with my ignorance, but that God offended you with conviction if you are doing something he says not to. God convicted me on some of the things I wrote about and now, I must change it, for it says in James 4:17 Therefore to him that knoweth to do good, and doeth it not, to him it is sin.

Leave a Reply

