The Titus 2 Woman-The woman I want to be

Titus 2:3-5     The aged women likewise, that they be in behaviour as becometh holiness, not false accusers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things. That they may teach the young women to be sober, to love their husbands, to love their children, To be discreet, chaste, keepers at home, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God be not blasphemed.

*Behaviour as becometh holiness-OK ladies, I know this is a hard one for me! I am short-tempered, and sometimes I do not tolerate stupidity very well. When I say stupidity, I mean things that do not go according to my plans for the moment. Things may not bother me one day and drive me nuts the next. God has helped me to change this over the years. I find myself thinking things instead of saying them, which is a start, now I have to work on not even thinking them. I want to be an example to my children and to others. I have 4 girls and a congregation watching my every move. I need to ask myself daily, “Is my behaviour as becometh holiness?” Often the answer is no. This is an area I really need work.

*Not false accusers-I think I do pretty well on this one. I do, however, need to remember I have 5 pairs of ears around 24/7 and that they sometimes do not hear the whole story when they “eavesdrop” on my phone conversations. So I really need to work on watching what discussions go on while I’m on the telephone!

*Not given to much wine-I’ve got this one down! I’m going to give you my opinion on this, if you don’t like it, remember, it’s MY opinion and we are all different and entitled to our opinions. I think professing Christians should NOT drink-EVER! Here’s why. Say I pull into your driveway and invite you to church, we stand outside and have a great conversation about the Lord and you commit to attending this Sunday morning at my church. GREAT! Now, you walk me to my vehicle and as I’m getting in, you notice a can of beer in the console. When I leave your house, you are going to think I’m a hypocrite and a fake. You’ll think I’m just like every other “christian” and that you’re doing just as good as I am, what do you need church for?  Here’s what Romans 14:13 says “Let us not therefore judge one another any more: but judge this rather, that no man put a stumbling block or an occasion to fall in his brother’s way.” I consider it a stumbling block to drink because I know it affects the way a person looks at my faith as well as how someone would look at the church I am attending. If it hurts your witness-don’t do it. Besides, when was the last time someone ever said that everything they had came from alcohol? Usually it’s everything they’ve LOST because of alcohol.

*Teachers of good things-I hope to teach my children good things. If I strive daily to be Christ-like, then I am teaching them good. If I have a bad day and do or say something I shouldn’t, I need to be like David and repent. Part of having a good witness is setting the example when you do something wrong. Ask whoever witnessed the action for forgiveness, pray and ask God for forgiveness, get up, dust yourself off, and strive NOT to do it again.

*That they may teach the young women to be sober (covered), to love their husbands-all righty then, Love their husbands, man this one takes some work!!! Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE MY HUSBAND, but am I setting the example on HOW to love your husbands? Again, I fail at this one a lot. Men do not love the same way we do. What I mean is women, as a whole, like to be told they are loved and shown affection. Men, on the other hand, want to be shown respect. It took a long time and a wonderful pair of books, For Men Only and For Women Only by Shaunti Feldhan, for me to see this. I am working on showing my husband respect by not cutting him down-sometimes joking can go too far. Also by letting others know “Hey, this man is mine, and he’s AWESOME!” Let your husbands know they are good daddies, providers and husbands. It builds their self-esteem and you wouldn’t believe how much nicer they are to live with!

*To love their children-Another one I feel like I fail at. I love my children, but I wonder if I tell them and show them often enough. I try to teach them right from wrong and I discipline them when they are out of line, but do I hug them enough? Do I tell them I love them enough? The way I treat my children now will affect how they treat their children, and their children treat their children, and so on. Am I spending enough time with them? I know I home school and we are together all day, but is it quantity time or is it quality time?

*To be discreet-If you don’t want the kiddos to do it, say it, or see it, DON’T ALLOW THEM TO! And DON’T LET THEM SEE YOU DOING IT! If you expect your children not to do it, you probably don’t need to be doing it either. This may not be popular opinion, but it’s something I believe strongly in, Modesty falls into the discreet category. As the old saying goes “If you’re not in business, don’t advertise.” Parents allow children to make too many decisions regarding what they do in life. WE are the parents, WE buy the clothes, WE allow them to do things, WE are responsible for their actions whether WE want to admit it or not. We allow our children to watch programs like “Teen Mom” Really, is this something we want to promote? I’m not saying you can’t be forgiven if it happens, but parents WE need to do something about this! The “kids will be kids” attitude has to stop! Kids shouldn’t be having sex, period! We as parents need to teach our children to be discreet, that sex is for marriage, not for fun or because someone else is doing it. Let me tell you something else, you need to have the talk EARLY! If your children are in public school, they are exposed to sex as early as 1st grade. I had mine in public school, I wasn’t always a hs-er. I know the things my little girls came home telling about are not appropriate for a 1st grader to even know about. But how do they know about it? Parents do not think abstinence is something that should be practiced anymore, that was in “grandma’s” day and they allow their children to watch it on television, scantily clad teens/adults, pre-marital sex, homosexuality, pregnancy out-of-wedlock. Anyone who reads this-try this for 1 week-if you are watching TV and you hear a cuss word, turn it off for 30 min. If you hear/see homosexuality, turn it off for 30 min. Partial/full nudity, turn it off for 30 min. If you see something ungodly, turn it off for 30 min. I’d like to know how often you had your TV on in that week. Well, all that was free, I didn’t expect to go there with discreet!

*Chaste-See above-I think I about covered it! LOL

*Keepers of the home-ICK! I really don’t like this one! I AM NOT A HOUSEKEEPER! I’m very disorganized, I like to keep things, and I have 7 people to accumulate stuff from! This is another area I fail miserably! I wish I could afford a maid, but I don’t think she’d last long! I’ve got 5 kids to help clean, I feel like a Nazi if I make them clean, there’s serious dictating when I have them clean! But I feel like a terrible mom if I let them slide, after all, they will have their own houses to clean one day. That’s how I got in the pickle I’m in! My mom was a great mom, but she thought it was easier for her to do things herself than to make me do them. I agree! It’s definitely easier for me to do the work than make the kids do it. This is where the Nazi comes in. They whine and complain and ask me where every single item they pick up goes, and with 5 that’s a lot of stuff! I gripe, I yell, I boss, I order them around, I threaten to throw away everything they own and give them a box and a stick for toys, but then my pack rat side comes out and we put it all somewhere. Many people don’t know this about me, but I’m a certified pilot, I pile-it all in the corners! I need massive amounts of help and prayer about this one!

*Good-Psalm 14:3 says “They are all gone aside, they are all together become filthy: there is none that doeth good, no, not one.” AND in Psalm 53:3 “Every one of them is gone back: they are altogether become filthy; there is none that doeth good, no, not one.” AND AGAIN in Romans 3:10 it says “As it is written, There is none righteous, no, not one:” It’s true there are none good, none righteous BUT with Jesus covering our sins with his blood, that makes us forgiven and an heir to the kingdom of Heaven! We must strive daily to be like Jesus-the Bible says we are filthy-and no good, but when we accept Jesus we are made new! When we do something filthy or no good, all we have to do is ask Jesus to forgive us and He washes away the filth with His blood.

*Obedient to their own husbands-Yep, it’s in there, more than once! God expects us to be obedient to our husband. He does not expect our husbands to be a dictator. Mark 10:6-9 says “But from the beginning of the creation God made them male and female. For this cause shall a man leave his father and mother, and cleave to his wife;  And they twain shall be one flesh: so then they are no more twain, but one flesh.  What therefore God hath joined together, let not man put asunder. ” When we marry, we become one. If your husband says “Don’t spend money” DON’T SPEND MONEY! If he says “Please clean the house” CLEAN THE HOUSE!  If you try the above mentioned respect love approach with your husband, you’ll find you have no problem being an obedient wife. If you have a hard time with something your husband wants you to do–PRAY about it! God will honour a woman who is seeking to obey HIS word and desires to do HIS will! If you are a woman and unmarried reading this REMEMBER you must be obedient to the man you marry-CHOOSE WISELY!

*All of the above go together * “That the word of God be not blasphemed” I am striving to become this woman someday. I’ve nailed a few on the head, missed a time or two on a couple, and failed miserably on too many. But, as God’s word promises I CAN DO ALL THINGS THROUGH CHRIST WHICH STRENGTHENETH ME!! (Philippians 4:13)

This may not have been for anyone other than me today, but I hope it helps you on your walk with God! Pray for me to become a Titus 2 Woman!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Kathy Gillum said,

    That message was not only for you today. It spoke greatly to my heart. It reflects the things that I agree our children need tohear and be taught by example. I just wish I had felt this way and known these things when I so much younger and could have learned to apply them then. You are doing a wonderful job in teaching your children and I give you praise for doing all you can and calling upon God for help when you need it. My prayers will be with you.
    kathy


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

