1 Corinthians 7:4-5

1 Corinthians 7:4-5 The wife hath not power of her own body, but the husband: and likewise also the husband hath not power of his own body, but the wife.  Defraud ye not one the other, except it be with consent for a time, that ye may give yourselves to fasting and prayer; and come together again, that Satan tempt you not for your incontinency. 

This is something I wouldn’t normally write about, but, my DH called me from work and this seems to be an issue with a lot of men and their wives. I’m going to be pretty blunt in all this, but I feel it’s something God would have me to say.

God does not expect wives to use sex as a tool to get our husbands to do what we want. I’ve been guilty of it. I used to tell DH that if he didn’t do such and such, he was cut off. As I look back I can see how that affected our relationship. We both had “wandering eye” syndrome. We never cheated on one another, physically, but as I wrote in The Watchman, we looked and lusted and cheated mentally. As the verse states “that Satan tempt you not for your incontinency” Satan will tempt your husband with the low shirted, high skirted ladies out there. We all know there are enough of them out there for the guys to see. And if you are one of them, STOP IT! You may be causing someone elses husband to look when he really don’t want to. Wear a tank top under your low-cut shirt and wear a skirt that covers your rear-end! I’m gonna put this out there for you think about, when you intentionally wear things like that to get looked at, you are causing others to sin.

This is a rhetorical question, but one that needs asked. Do you want your husband to be having sex with someone else? No, of course not. If we expect them to stay faithful, we have to please them sexually. Men, in general, have a higher sex drive than women. I know if I have a busy stressful day, that’s the farthest thing from my mind. DH made a statement that stuck in my head. He said that when his day has gone really bad, or has been really stressful, he knows at the end of the day that it (sex) is the one thing that always goes right. And that he has a wife that truly loves him. It makes an otherwise bad day end good. He also said that if I tell him “no” he gets mad. He doesn’t know WHY he’s mad, but he is. Several guys he’s talked to at work are the same way. He also said that when I show him love physically he knows that I love him and still find him attractive. Just like in Titus 2, men show love differently than we do. And somehow in their brains, they think a wife that makes love to them truly loves them. Just like I didn’t write the book, I didn’t fashion the man, God did. Just like the Bible, there are going to be things that we don’t understand, but, we’ve seen it work so we’re going to stick with it!

Ladies, we do not understand the power we have to control our husbands attitude. Let’s be honest, sometimes men get more out of sex than we do. Is it really all that hard to make them happy for a few minutes in exchange for a happy husband? I’ve always heard “Happy Wife, Happy Life” but I have seen the change in my husband and when I make him happy, he tries harder to make me happy. Sometimes WE have to be the one to take the first step to change our home life. I’m not going to tell you it’s easy. I have gained close to 90 pounds since we got married. I’ve had 5 children, a set of twins is in that bunch, so I’ve stretched in places I didn’t think could stretch! I’m not comfortable with my body and I really don’t want it seen! But do you know what? DH don’t care. He loves ME, not my body, not my brain, not how well I cook, ME as a whole and he don’t even care about the weight. Do we look at our husbands and say “Yuck, you’ve gained weight, I’m not having sex with you ever again!” No we don’t, and they don’t either. Now if you happen to be one of those women who are still a size six and have children, don’t brag about it here, just thank God and go on! LOL

Bsically ladies, when we make love to our husbands, you are showing them love and they will try to make us happier (both in and out of bed) and our home life will be better for it!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Mel said,

    Your blog was wonderful again today. It’s amazing how God can use us if we let him. On the other hand it is amazing how satan can use us if we let him.
    Matthew 5:28 says
    But I say unto you, That whosoever looketh on a woman to lust after her hath committed adultery with her already in his heart.
    This verse says “with her”. Sounds to me like we are guilty too if we are not dressed appropriately or are doing anything else to provoke the issue.
    Sex is a huge issue for people everywhere. Your right it is not a tool for us to get what we want. If you want to use it as a tool use it when your man wants to bring you closer together, so show your love and committement. I can’t imagen the pain I have caused my husband by making him think I wasn’t interested in him. I didn’t know how it would make him feel to “not be in the mood.” I also use to say some pretty horrrible things to him about just kidding but I would give anything to beable to take those words back. Sex should not be just sex. Sex should be love. Even if you are not in the mood if you give yourself time you can often have your mood changed but either way to your man it is a act of love.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

