Faith

Matthew 8:5-13 (also found in Luke 7:1-10) “And when Jesus was entered into Capernaum, there came unto him a centurion, beseeching him, And saying, Lord, my servant lieth at home sick of the palsy, grievously tormented. And Jesus saith unto him, I will come and heal him. The centurion answered and said, Lord, I am not worthy that thou shouldest come under my roof: but speak the word only, and my servant shall be healed. For I am a man under authority, having soldiers under me: and I say to this man, Go, and he goeth; and to another, Come, and he cometh; and to my servant, Do this, and he doeth it When Jesus heard it, he marvelled, and said to them that followed, Verily I say unto you, I have not found so great faith, no, not in Israel.  And I say unto you, That many shall come from the east and west, and shall sit down with Abraham, and Isaac, and Jacob, in the kingdom of heaven.  But the children of the kingdom shall be cast out into outer darkness: there shall be weeping and gnashing of teeth.  And Jesus said unto the centurion, Go thy way; and as thou hast believed, so be it done unto thee. And his servant was healed in the selfsame hour.”

The thing I noticed the most about this passage was the blind faith of the centurion. He didn’t want Jesus to come to his house, he felt himself unworthy. (sound familiar?)  He also didn’t have his servant brought to Jesus to be healed. He asked Jesus to “speak the word only” and the servant would be healed. Talk about blind faith!

Did you know Jesus is the same today as He was yesterday? Tomorrow, He’ll still be the same. Jesus does not have to be physically present in your life to perform miracles, but He does have to be spiritually present! He can still heal if we ask Him to!

Proverbs 18:24 b says “and there is a friend that sticketh closer than a brother.” Who is this friend? Jesus is the best friend you will ever find! ANY problem you face, you can take it to Him, ANY problem! He won’t laugh at you or gossip about it when you leave. When you think the world is against you, Jesus will be there!

Hebrews 13:5 b says “for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.” Jesus will NEVER leave you! If I am going to believe 1 promise that God made in the Bible, I’m going to believe them all! When your friends leave, if your spouse leaves, when your children grow up and move, Jesus will always be there. He will “NEVER LEAVE THEE, NOR FORSAKE THEE!” I love that promise! Sometimes I feel like there’s no one out there that understands how I feel, at least no one I want to share things with! Jesus WANTS you to come to Him with your concerns and your problems. He is the best comforter there is!

Well, I kind of ran a rabbit today! But God knows what each and every one of us need and maybe someone will be reading this and be able to take to Jesus their cares and cast them at His feet!

Leave a Reply

