Call To Repentance

This is the heading given in my Bible for this passage, it fits, so I’m leaving it!

Gather yourselves together, yea, gather together, O nation not desired. Before the decree bring forth, before the day pass as the chaff, before the fierce anger of the Lord come upon you, before the day of the Lord’s anger come upon you. Seek ye the Lord, all ye meek of the earth, which have wrought his judgment; seek righteousness, seek meekness; it may be ye shall be hid in the day of the Lord’s anger.  Zephaniah 2:1-3

*Gather yourselves together, yea, gather together,  This is a warning that we need to come together. We need to stop fighting against one another. The Democrats, Republicans, Liberals, Conservatives and everyone else in this nation, need to work TOGETHER instead of working against one another. If we’d take a month to review the Constitution and REMEMBER the principles this nation was founded on, we would ALL benefit from it. (Homeschool moms- let’s do this with our kids! I’m going to start tomorrow!)

*O nation not desired. Look at what happened on 9-11. That wasn’t the first time we’ve been attacked. Remember Pearl Harbor? Over the last 75 years or so, the USA has made several enemies. There are many countries out there that are NOT so fond of this country. We have become a nation not desired.

*Before the decree bring forth, before the day pass as the chaff,  before the fierce anger of the Lord come upon you, before the day of the Lord’s anger come upon you.  If we keep going in the direction we’re heading, the Lord is going to send His wrath. God is slow to anger, but I think we may be pushing it a little too far! Before the decree, before the day passes, before the anger of the Lord we need to:

*Seek ye the Lord, all ye meek of the earth, which have wrought his judgment; seek righteousness, seek meekness; We Christians need to take an active part in prayer for our country. I know we probably all have the nation on our prayer request list at church, but do we actually pray for it? You don’t have to answer this, but I want you to think about it. I’m guilty! I MAKE the bulletins for church, but do I actually take the time to pray for the specific requests on the list? The one’s I remember during the week, sure, but do I read over it to refresh my memory? Nope. I want to challenge every one of you who read this to add the nation and it’s leaders to your prayers today, and tomorrow, and every time that it crosses your mind. We need to seek righteousness for our country, seek meekness-we have become a little “big for our britches” and have the “better than you” attitude.

*it may be ye shall be hid in the day of the Lord’s anger. I, for one, do not want to be at the receiving end of the Lord’s anger! I want to be hid in that day!  I also want my family hidden. We need to think of future generations when we pray. We have become a selfish generation, I pray for my children to find God-fearing spouses and to follow God all their lives. I don’t just pray for my husband and I to follow the Lord and to do his will. It’s important too, but it’s also important that our children do, so they can teach their children and so on. (This is a blog for another day! My rabbit is run! LOL)

Let’s make a conscious effort to pray for our nation and leaders (and our children). That we will seek the Lord and do His will, so that when the day comes and the Lord’s anger is kindled, we will be saved from the chastening rod.

Leave a Reply

