Have you grown up?

When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things. 1 Corinthians 13:11

Have you ever wanted to throw a fit? I mean lay on the floor and kick and scream? Do you fight those urges? Do you stop and pray to God for help? Do you give in to those urges and pout? Are you still a child or have you grown into a man? (Or woman, in my case!) There are days when I want to holler and yell, and some days I do. Sometimes it takes us adults longer to realize that God is there to guide and comfort us just like we are here to guide and comfort our children when they have a need. All we have to do is ask. God is our Father and He wants to hold us in His arms.

I’ve seen my children go through these stages: when they were newborns, they would cry but not really do a whole lot of flailing. When they hit 1 or 2 years  old, they would TRY to get away with the kicking and screaming, my DH or I would pick them up, swat a bottom and set them on the couch. My DS at around 3, had seen a child bang his head into the floor to get his way, well, we were at church in the fellowship hall, which is concrete, and he decided to try this one out. He plopped his little bottom down on the floor and thunk, he hit his head on the concrete. He got the strangest look on his face, a big goose egg in the center of his forehead and NEVER tried it again. He figured out really quick that was not something he was going to try again. Sometimes we learn quickly, sometimes it takes a swat or two to realize our behaviour is unacceptable. 

As parents, sometimes we don’t want to “get onto” our children in front of others, we’re afraid they might “get embarrassed.” Well guess what, sometimes that’s just what needs to happen! I realize that spanking is “not allowed” but wall squats are! I’ve made mine do them in the store before, but it’s only happened once! Sometimes we think the behaviour isn’t too bad, but, any unacceptable behaviour needs to be addressed. We do not always need to physically punish our children, but we need to let them know that their behaviour is wrong and it needs to stop. Instead, parents often ignore the issue or pretend they don’t see what they are doing just to “keep the peace.” When we are not consistent, we confuse our children and they will always try to push their luck. I read  a story the other day about a cat that really fits what we do with our children. When you let a cat in every once in a while, it always wants in. It will try to get in the door every time you open it. The luxury of being inside is worth the kick every now and again. If you never let the cat in, it will never trip you up when you are bringing in groceries. The luxury of getting their way will cause a child to not care about the swat every now and again. When we fail to discipline our children we are also allowing them to show other children how to misbehave as well as allowing our own children to, in essence, be the boss. Proverbs 13:24 says “He that spareth his rod hateth his son: but he that loveth him chasteneth him betimes.” It does not say “he who spares the rod spoils the child” it says “HATETH his son” I love my children and I want them to grow into God-fearing adults.  I’m hard on my children, I expect them to do what I say, when I say it. I am the parent, they are the child, when they move out they can do what they want, until then I’m the boss and what I say goes-or there is going to be consequences. It is my job to raise my children and teach them, not the state, not the teacher, not the babysitter, and not the grandparents-they’ve already raised the children God gave them!!

God is the same way with us. He’s the boss. Until we leave this earth, He expects us to do what He says, when He says it. If we fail to listen, we will be chastised. We are God’s children. “But he that loveth him chasteneth him betimes.” When we fail to follow God’s directions, He will discipline us. It may be in front of others and we may be embarrassed, or it may be something only you know and no one else will even have a clue. Like David when he was on the roof top, sometimes we go through life doing our own things-doing what WE want to do instead of what we’re supposed to be doing, God has to give us a shake and tell us “You are that man.” David lost a child because he was doing what he wanted instead of going to war with the other kings like he was supposed to. We have to strive daily to listen to God. By reading His word and spending time in prayer we will learn to hear God speak to us and learn what He wants us to do. If we fail to read the Bible or pray, we are deliberately ignoring God and what He would have us to do, and just as we chastise our children, God will chastise us.

Matthew 22:37  “Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind.” Mark 12:30 “And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind, and with all thy strength: this [is] the first commandment.” Luke 10:27 “And he answering said, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy strength, and with all thy mind; and thy neighbour as thyself.”  It’s time we put away our childish things and what we want and do the things God asks of us. I think that you will find that it’s not a hard task. God wants us to love, respect and obey Him just as we want our children to love, respect and obey us. We have a love for our children. God loves us with far greater love than we can ever imagine. All He asks is that we love Him in return.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Donna Climer said,

    Amen to this posting. I agree with it in so many ways. My children were raised to know when we said something we meant it. If they did not mind they suffered consequences.

    As for listening to my Lord, I am one of those who has to be reminded once in a while that I need to listen. But, praise the Lord, I am learning. Keep praying for me.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

