Healing Herbs-Pretty cool how God gives us what we need!

Genesis 1:29 “And God said, Behold, I have given you every herb bearing seed, which [is] upon the face of all the earth, and every tree, in the which [is] the fruit of a tree yielding seed; to you it shall be for meat.”

First off, this is the first year I have ever taken herbs instead of medicine. My children have not been sick, except a brief bout of stomach flu that only lasted about 12 hours in 4 of the 7 of us,  and I haven’t given them anything herbs or otherwise.

My DH is a stubborn man (I bet none of you women out there have one of those do ya?) and he ended up very ill this winter and is still suffering some of the effects. I’m going to have to go back a little bit to give you some history for this to make any sense. About 4 years ago we remodeled a home, a very old home that was mostly stucco and plaster. Seems that the DH cannot handle that kind of dust and ever since he gets sinus infections every time he deals with dusty things. Well, to make a long story short, we remodeled the bathroom in our new (to us) home and it was kind of dusty/moldy. Guess who got the sinus infection! Since his DW (that would be me) gave away his Echinacea, he didn’t  have anything to take at the onset of his symptoms. Now my DH has always taken Echinacea when he starts feeling “under the weather” and usually does not get sick, but since the aforementioned sentence stated, he had nothing to take at the onset of the sinus infection. DH, being stubborn, didn’t want to drive 25 miles to get more and thought he’d just tough it out. Well, the sinus infection turned into (in my diagnosis, being a man, DH didn’t go to the Dr. either) bronchitis which in turn led to pneumonia. I can say this because that is what happened to 2 of our church members who had the same symptoms as the DH.

Well, being a Facebook junkie, I saw an event at Mama Jean’s (a really great health food, herb, organic store-I’ll have to post their website) for cold and flu herbs with one of the local herbalists from Ava. I’m thinking great a backwoods hippie who probably grows “medicinal herbs” of the illegal sort is going to be telling us what we need to get better. A good friend and fellow home school mom who has been into herbs for a few years and uses his products called and asked me if I wanted to go. I figured if she uses the stuff and trusts the guy I’ll check it out.  I’ll admit, I checked out the guy’s website before we went and thought he was definitely a hippie, but he had some great products. I even got over the fact that his tinctures are made with 40-50% grain alcohol. I measured out what I’d be taking in one day and it equaled less than 1 T total, so 1/2 T of alcohol with God made plants compared to 4 T or more of NyQuil and it’s man-made chemicals, I can deal with that.

T, M, DH and I sat through the class, got a lot of the same info I found on his website, but it confirmed what I was after, and got a bottle of Echinacea  and  Golden Seal Tincture. DH takes it twice a day and his symptoms have DRAMATICALLY decreased, he still coughs and has green mucus (see aforementioned stubbornness, we’ve yet to drive to the health food store and get the Bronchaid to help rid his chest of the mucus) but that’s his own fault!

I took Wisdom of the Ages ALC every morning 15 drops in my tea, just to ward off any cold/flu junk and it seemed to work, I had a cough for a few days, but I forgot to take it, so that’s my fault! It’s like a medicine cabinet in a bottle! It works on cold sores too!

ANYWAY! I’m just starting out on the Herbal Journey and thought I’d take you along. Here’s the websites for Wisdom of the Ages, Mama Jean’s and Teeter Creek Herbs.

Wisdom of the Ages: http://www.wisdomoftheagesllc.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=18:advantage-liquid-concentrate-alc&catid=14:woa-products&Itemid=60

Mama Jean’s: http://mamajeansmarket.com/MaMa_Jeans/Welcome.html

Teeter Creek Herbs: http://teetercreekherbs.com/

Leave a Reply

