How many Commandments have you broken?

 

Our Young Adult Sunday School class is studying about the life of David. We were talking a few weeks ago about the fact that David was a man after God’s own heart, even though he broke half of the 10 Commandments in just a couple of chapters.

 

The Watchmen covers this topic quite well, however, that post was about US warning others of THEIR sin…how bout we take a look at our own lives. Matthew 7:3-5 says “And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thine own eye? Or how wilt thou say to thy brother, Let me pull out the mote out of thine eye; and, behold, a beam is in thine own eye? Thou hypocrite, first cast out the beam out of thine own eye; and then shalt thou see clearly to cast out the mote out of thy brother’s eye.”

 

I think I kinda put the cart before the horse. Actually, at that time, I believe God was wanting me to warn others. Now I believe He’s asking me to look at MY life and what I’ve done.

 

Sometimes it’s a good idea to go back over the sins that God has delivered you from! If you have something to rejoice over, (like being delivered!!) you have a hard time being angry.

 

I’m going to go back over the 10 Commandments again.

 

Exodus 20:3-17

 

Commandment 1 “Thou shalt have no other gods before me.”

Do you put anything before God? Work, school, children, sports or tv shows? How about on Wednesday night when you’ve worked all day and just don’t feel like going to church? GUILTY! When I first was saved Survivor had been airing for 1 year. I LOVED THAT SHOW! After skipping Wed. nights for a while, it got easier to miss Sun. evenings. Then after a few months I wasn’t going at all. Just like the song Slow Fade by Casting Crowns, you don’t set out to leave your faith, it’s a slow fade into disobedience.

 

Commandment 2 “Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image, or any likeness of any thing that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that isin the water under the earth: Thou shalt not bow down thyself to them, nor serve them:”

 

Buddha, Mohammad and Allah are some that you might think of right off-hand, but, how about your car? Home? Boat? You may not be out in the yard bowing down to them but are you serving them? If you take off to the lake instead of going to church, you’re serving self. God has given us 6 days a week to do whatever we want. How come it’s always on Sunday that we decide to do things? (Guilty again) Now for the scary part.

 

for I the LORD thy God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children unto the thirdand fourth generation of them that hate me;”

 

David was told that the sword would never depart from his household because of his sin. His baby (that was conceived in adultery) died, one son raped his half-sister, another son then killed his brother for raping his sister and later on David had his wives and concubines taken from him and were lain with on the roof top, because David was told “Thus saith the LORD, Behold, I will raise up evil against thee out of thine own house, and I will take thy wives before thine eyes, and give [them] unto thy neighbour, and he shall lie with thy wives in the sight of this sun.” 2 Samuel 12:1

The things we do WILL affect our children.

 

“And shewing mercy unto thousands of them that love me, and keep my commandments.”

God will show mercy, if we are repentant! David was sorry for what he did and repented. That’s why he was considered a man after God’s own heart, when he did wrong, and realized it, he repented.

 

Commandment 3 “Thou shalt not takethe name of the LORD thy God in vain; for the LORD will not hold him guiltless that taketh his name in vain.”

 

Watch yer mouth. None of that slang either! (see The Watchman) Strike 3 so far….good thing there’s 10! I might not be half bad…(sorry cheesy joke)

 

Commandment 4 “Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy.”

 

Go to church! Been there…didn’t do that…go to church that is. Guess that’s strike 4. Good thing this isn’t baseball. There’s more to this commandment:

 

“Six days shalt thou labour, and do allthy work: But the seventh day is the sabbath of the LORD thy God:in itthou shalt not do any work, thou, nor thy son, nor thy daughter, thy manservant, nor thy maidservant, nor thy cattle, nor thy stranger that is within thy gates: For in six days the LORD made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that in them is, and rested the seventh day: wherefore the LORD blessed the sabbath day, and hallowed it.”

 

I guess that means we probably shouldn’t do any shopping on Sunday. Eating out too. I don’t know how many times I’ve invited someone to church and they say “I have to feed your church members at noon, I can’t come” If we don’t go, they won’t stay open. This is really hard to do, I know, I have 5 kids and it’s a lot easier to run to Taco Bell for a Grande Meal. But that’s something I’ve got to stop doing…told ya’ll this was also for me!

 

Commandment 5 “Honour thy father and thy mother: that thy days may be long upon the land which the LORD thy God giveth thee.”

 

I’m not doing very good at this…5 for 5. Not only are you supposed to honour your folks, if you do, you’ll live longer. Wish I’d’a learned this earlier in life! Now look at the rest of the verse, God gave US the land, not the animals, US. I’m not saying we should go finish off the rain forest, or do another buffalo hunt for sport, but if it comes between my family living and a deer becoming dinner, sorry Bambi, you’re gonna go!

 

Commandment 6 “Thou shalt not kill.”

 

I thought I had this one licked…until I read 1 John 3:15. “Whosoever hateth his brother is a murderer: and ye know that no murderer hath eternal life abiding in him.” This isn’t just a birth brother, if you are saved, all fellow Christians are brothers and sisters. If at any time there was something that caused hatred between you, you’re guilty of murder.

 

Commandment 7 “Thou shalt notcommit adultery.”

 

Another easy one, right? Not so much. (I copied and pasted this from The Watchman. If you haven’t read that post yet, do!)

 

I may get some hate mail for this, but it’s the truth and as I’ve said, I didn’t write the book, but I have to live by it. If you are having sex with, touching inappropriately, “sexting” or lusting after someone who is not your spouse, you are committing adultery. I’m talking 1 man 1 woman marriage here, homosexuality is wrong, whether you are “married” by state standards. *See Leviticus 18:22 Thou shalt not lie with mankind, as with womankind: it is abomination.
As Matthew 5:28 says But I say unto you, That whosoever looketh on a woman to lust after her hath committed adultery with her already in his heart. This applies to women also! If you are married and are looking at another man or woman and thinking lustful thoughts, you are committing adultery.

 

Well, now I’m 7 for 7.

 

Commandment 8 “Thou shalt not steal”

 

Nope, not even a grape! I actually had someone say not to pick up something that’s been lost on the side of the road (unless you’re going to turn it in or post you found it somewhere). He said that you don’t know if someone’s a mile up the road turning around to get it…He’s really got a point, you don’t know. I’ve actually stole quite a few things in my younger days, even on a church trip. I’m surprised God didn’t drown me in the wave pool for that one! I guess he knew that one day I’d realize exactly what the consequences were for my actions and let me feel guilty about that one for a while before I finally repented. (And didn’t do it anymore!)

 

Commandment 9 “Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbour.”

 

Liar, liar, pants on fire! Need I say anymore?

 

Commandment 10 “Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s house, thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s wife, nor his manservant, nor his maidservant, nor his ox, nor his ass, nor any thing that is thy neighbour’s.”

 

Now, this doesn’t mean you can’t like what your neighbor has or want nice things, it just means you can’t want it so bad that it’s all you think about, or work for, or forsake God over.

 

Now that I know I have broken every commandment there is, is there something I can do about it? Well, I’m glad I asked!

 

Romans 3:10 “As it is written, There is none righteous, no, not one:”

 

Romans 3:23 “For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God;”

 

Romans 5:8 “But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.”

 

Romans 6:23 “For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.”

 

Romans 10:9-10 “That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved. For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.”

 

Romans 10:13 “For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.”

 

It really is that simple! God knew what He’d be dealing with when He created this Earth! He didn’t intend on faith being so hard that we couldn’t have it. God wants a relationship with us, all we have to do is strive to do what Jesus would!

 

Leave a Reply

